Shiv Sena, BJP break-up,Shiv Sena to go it alone in 2019 elections


Mumbai:In a big decision, Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena has announced it will fight 2019 Lok Sabha elections alone, i.e. not contest in alliance with its traditional partner BJP. The decision was expected due to the ever souring ties between Shiv Sena and the BJP, currently ruling the state in the alliance. The decision was taken in a meet where Shiv Sena held internal polls to elect its party president and other functionaries, which happens to be the birth anniversary of its founder Bal Thackeray. Sena president Uddhav Thackeray was be re-elected as there is no other nomination for the post. Elections were held at NSCI in Worli for the posts of members of the national executive committee and deputy leaders who will be elected from among 180 members of the national executive.

The Shiv Sena on Tuesday passed a resolution to go solo in the upcoming Maharashtra assembly polls as well as the Lok Sabha elections scheduled in 2019.
Sena leader Sanjay Raut moved the resolution at the party’s national executive committee meeting in Mumbai and it was passed unanimously. The party has pledged to win at least 25 seats (out of 48) in the Lok Sabha and 150 seats (out of 288) in state assembly.
Meanwhile, Yuva Sena president Aaditya Thackeray was elevated to the top tier of Shiv Sena’s leadership after he was made a member of the party’s National Executive.Shiv Sena minister Eknath Shinde, MPs Chandrakant Kaire, Anant Geere and Anatrao Adsul were also elevated as leaders of the party, taking the number of designated leaders to 13.Currently, apart from veterans like Manohar Joshi, Sudhir Joshi, Subhash Desai, Diwakar Raote, four others are holding the posts of Sena leaders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here